Four individuals have been announced as the newest inductees to the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame in recognition of their outstanding contributions to Saskatchewan agriculture. The inductees for 2021 are: Grant Devine, Rick Holm, Bill Jameson and Bob Tyler.

“The 2021 inductees have all had a significant impact on Saskatchewan agriculture, helping to advance and shape this vital industry,” said Reed Andrew, president of the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame.” We are so pleased to honour these individuals for their work across the sector, for contributions in crop science, public policy, livestock development and value-added agriculture.”

These individuals will be formally inducted to the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Saskatoon on April 9, 2022. A brief overview of their accomplishments is below.

Grant Devine, premier of Saskatchewan from 1982 to 1991 and former agriculture minister, farmer, agricultural economist and university professor, positioned agriculture throughout his career as the foundation for economic  growth  in the province. He brought forward  policies that supported  the industry through challenging production years, such as guaranteed loans to young farmers and provincewide natural gas. He championed innovation and science, establishing Ag-West Bio to lead work on biotechnology, while the province's Agriculture Development Fund began during his tenure to advance agricultural research. He was inducted into the Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame in 2015.

Rick Holm, a professor emeritus of plant sciences and former director of the Crop Development Centre (CDC) at the University of Saskatchewan, made many contributions to the industry through his research on weed control and crop development. His weed control research was applied and designed to serve the needs of farmers. As director of the CDC, he advanced expansion of the pulse lab and played a key role in supporting the development and commercialization of Clearfield wheat and lentil varieties in Canada. He made significant efforts to transfer his research results and knowledge to producers at events and conferences, with a practical, down-to-earth approach to weed science and extension that was appreciated by producers.

William (Bill) Jameson, founding partner of JGL Livestock, one of the premier cattle trading firms in North America providing a host of services for livestock producers, has supported the growth of the Saskatchewan cattle market and provincial economy. He has held various leadership positions at the provincial and national levels and has championed the next generation of leaders through programs such as the JGL Legacy Scholarship and his personal mentorship and development of others. He has a deep involvement with industry groups, having served as president of the Saskatchewan Cattle Feeders Association and chair of the Saskatchewan Cattlemen's Association and is always working to ensure the cattle industry has a strong, collective voice.

Robert (Bob) Tyler has been referred to as the father of value-added pulse processing in Saskatchewan. He has been involved in teaching, research and extension in the areas of crop quality and utilization, protein and starch functionality, and food processing and product development, spanning 40 years. He is a professor and department head of animal and poultry science at the University of Saskatchewan College of Agriculture and Bioresources and his many leadership roles have included chair of both Ag­ West Bio and the Saskatchewan Agri-Food Council. He was instrumental in forming and developing Protein Industries Canada, and is frequently called on as a passionate educator, agri-business supporter and agri-food advocate.

You can help  recognize the outstanding 2021 Inductees, along with the 2020 Inductees, by attending the April 9, 2022, Ceremony and Dinner. For more information, visit

Portraits of all the inductees are displayed in the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame Gallery, located on the upper level of the Western Development Museum in Saskatoon.

The 2022 Inductees will be announced later this year.


View All Blogs