Saskatchewan nominees vying for Canada’s most prestigious innovation awards, the 2014 Ernest C. Manning Awards, will be introduced to members of the Saskatchewan Legislature today at the start of Question Period by Hon. Tim McMillan. A networking reception will follow (5:00 pm Room 218, Legislative Building, Regina, SK).

The Saskatchewan innovators are among 45 nominees from across Canada being considered for three award categories: the $100,000 Encana Principal Award, the $25,000 David E. Mitchell Award of Distinction and two $10,000 Innovation Awards.

SK Manning Award Nominees Reception details:
Monday, April 7, 2014
5:00 to 7:00 pm
Caucus Board Room #218
Legislative Building
2405 Legislative Drive
Regina, SK

The nominees are:
Zenon Dragan (Saskatoon), for developing the Draganflyer, an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle that provides real-time data from an aerial perspective, giving public safety personnel, professional photographers and videographers an “eye in the sky” vantage point that was previously unattainable without large teams and costly equipment.

Sean Frisky (Regina), for developing a chemical-free, frac flowback water treatment system that allows on-site treatment of frac flowback and produced water for reuse in fracs. His company’s proprietary ElectroPure Treatment process saves the customer money, reduces liability and saves the environment.

Patric Byrns (Saskatoon), for developing electric vehicle systems that provide significant performance, reliability, maintenance and health benefits to mine operators and workers as well as drastically reducing operating costs. His company’s goal is to eliminate diesel particulate underground where it is most concentrated and harmful.

Wilf Keller, President and CEO of Ag-West Bio and Saskatchewan Chapter Chair of the Awards Foundation, says the 2014 Saskatchewan nominees exemplify Saskatchewan’s innovative spirit. “These three nominees show the creativity and perseverance that leads to success. I wish each of them luck in the national competition.” Winners of 2014 Manning Awards will be announced in the fall and honoured at the 2014 awards gala October 22nd in Ottawa, ON. 

Download a PDF of this article here.


View All News Releases